Why Subregions?

  • The Southern Rockies Fire Science Network region includes 6 different ecotypes across seven different states.

  • Each ecotype, or subregion, has significant fire management challenges specific to that area. Some of these unique challenges involve smoke management, invasive plants, endangered species, or WUI concerns.

  • We created subregions to save time for website visitors like you who come here to find the latest fire science and information for your work as a fire manager, practitioner, or researcher.

  • Subregions allow you to click on your area in our map, or search using your subregion title, and be directed to resources relevant to your specific needs.

Black Hills

Wyoming Sagebrush

Rocky Mountains

Wasatch Mountains and Plateaus

Uinta Basin

Canyonlands / Desert Montane

Questions or feedback?

Contact Program Coordinator Gloria Edwards gloria.edwards@colostate.edu  970 491-2991‬‬